El Tri

‘Guti’ cut as Mexico names final 23-man World Cup squad.

Monday morning, the FMF announced Juan Carlos Osorio’s 23-man squad that would take part in the World Cup. Erick Gutierrez was the final cut, although the Pachuca midfielder is still en route with the team to Copenhagen for El Tri‘s final World Cup preparation match against Denmark.

The FMF had until today to submit its 23-man World Cup squad to FIFA, and Gutierrez’s cut made it apparent that Andrés Guardado has recovered enough to be a significant contributor to El Tri‘s World Cup run.

The federation is prepared if Guardado or others suffer a setback injury setback. ‘Guti’, among a host of many other players, can be called into the national selection for any injured player until El Tri plays its first match, which would be against Germany.

The list of players below is the list of 23 that would travel to Denmark after Saturday’s match against Scotland. The Director of National Selections was responsible for the release of the final list of 23 today.

The chosen players are traveling in two groups Sunday evening into today in two groups to Copenhagen–one group via a flight to Paris and then Copenhagen, and the other via a flight to Amsterdam then to Copenhagen. It would be in Copenhagen that the final World Cup squad would play one tune-up match as a final squad, a friendly against Denmark on Saturday, June 9.

GOALKEEPERS: Guillermo Ochoa (Standard Liege, BEL), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Jose de Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul)

DEFENDERS: Hector Moreno (Real Sociedad, ESP), Carlos Salcedo (Eintracht Frankfurt, GER), Hugo Ayala (Tigres UANL), Diego Reyes (Porto, POR), Miguel Layun (Sevilla, ESP), Jesus Gallardo (Monterrey), Edson Alvarez (Club America)

MIDFIELDERS: Andres Guardado (Real Betis, ESP), Hector Herrera (Porto, POR), Marco Fabian (Eintracht Frankfurt, GER), Rafael Marquez (Atlas), Jonathan Dos Santos (LA Galaxy, USA), Giovani Dos Santos (LA Galaxy, USA)

FORWARDS: Jesus Manuel Corona (Porto, POR), Raul Jimenez (Benfica, POR), Javier Hernandez (West Ham United, ENG), Javier Aquino (Tigres UANL), Carlos Vela (Los Angeles FC, USA), Hirving Lozano (PSV Eindhoven, NED), Oribe Peralta (Club America)



To Top