Leagues Cup 2020 Dates Announced

The ever evolving Liga MX-MLS rivalry-inspired collaborations took another step on Thursday morning with the announcement of the 2020 Leagues Cup dates.

Though last year’s edition seemed to be quickly put together and only included four teams from each league, the 2020 version will begin on July 21st and 22nd and will double with eight clubs now representing each North American league.

Only the MLS teams have been announced so far with Philadelphia Union, Real Salt Lake, Minnesota United, LA Galaxy, Toronto FC, DC United, Portland Timbers and New York Red Bulls facing off against Liga MX sides that have yet to be revealed. Much like last year, Leagues Cup will prove to be a matter of preference when it comes to roster selection for the US-based teams, given the matches for this tournament falling directly at the final stretch of the regular season of MLS where making the playoffs is the main priority.

The Round of 16 matches will take place in the United States and Canada and the quarterfinals will be held on August 4th and 5th followed by the semifinals on August 25th and 26th.

The final is set for Wednesday, September 16th.



To Top